Educational Resources

Education Awards

The Leo M. Davidoff Society honors teachers who have made significant contributions to the education of students at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.

Dr. Davidoff was born in Latvia in 1898, immigrated to the U.S. and began his medical training at Harvard. In 1954, he became the first chair of the Department of Surgery, and five years later in 1959, the Chair of Neurological Surgery. His legacy is profound as a passionate teacher and former Associate Dean of Education.

The Leo M. Davidoff Society was founded in 1976 by Einstein Psychiatry faculty member, Dr. Ida Davidoff. As of today, just over 300 Einstein faculty have been honored with membership in the Society.

The Office of Medical Education and the Davidoff Society annually accept nominations for new member induction into the Society, which usually takes place in the springtime. Nominees must have faculty appointments at Einstein and demonstrate evidence of excellent teaching of medical students for at least five years. For more information about the Davidoff Society nomination process and/or the Society, please contact Dr. Sheira Schlair at




Educational Services Award

The Educational Services Award is given to an individual who has provided significant service in education administration at Einstein for the MD Program. Previous recipients of this award were:

    2020 – Christina Chin
    2019 – Penny Grossman
    2018 – Michael Reichgott
    2017 – Howard Steinman
    2016 – William Burton
Click here to log in