Educational Resources

Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Teaching is given to an individual who has been a great teacher and leader for our MD students in recognition of a lifetime of significant service to Einstein and Einstein students. The awardee is announced at the Einstein Education Award Day ceremony and the award is presented at graduation.


2021 Sherry A. Downie, Ph.D. Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
2020 Harris Goldstein, M.D. Associate Dean for Scientific Resources
Department of Pediatrics (Pediatric Allergy & Immunology)
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
2019 Paul R. Marantz, M.D., M.P.H. Department of Epidemiology & Population Health
Department of Medicine
2018 Gerald A. Paccione, Jr., M.D. Department of Medicine
2017 Martha S. Grayson, M.D. Department of Medicine (Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education Emerita)
2016 Robert W. Marion, M.D. Department of Pediatrics (Genetics)
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology & Women's Health (Reproductive Genetics)
2015 Edward R. Burns, M.D. Department of Medicine (Hematology); Department of Pathology
2014 Charles W. Nordin, M.D. Department of Medicine (Cardiology)
  Penny Steiner-Grossman, Ed.D. Department of Family and Social Medicine
2013 Howard M. Steinman, Ph.D. Department of Biochemistry
2012 Herbert H. Schaumburg, M.D. Department of Neurology
2011 Michael J. Reichgott, M.D., Ph.D.    Department of Medicine
2010 Melvin N. Zelefsky, M.D. Department of Radiology
2009 Leslie H. Bernstein, M.D. Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology)
  George J. Fruhman, Ph.D. Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology
2008 Stephen G. Baum, M.D. Senior Associate Dean for Students
2007 Irwin R. Merkatz, M.D. Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health
2006 Martin N. Cohen, M.D. Department of Medicine (Cardiology)
  Michael Fisher, M.D. Department of Medicine (Dermatology)
2005 Albert S. Kuperman, Ph.D. Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
2004 Joan Casey, M.D. Department of Medicine
2003 Richard Hays, M.D. Department of Medicine (Nephrology)
2002 Michael Cohen, M.D. Department of Pediatrics
  Matthew Scharff, M.D. Department of Cell Biology
2001 Ralph Ger, M.B., Ch.B. Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology
2000 Milford Fulop, M.D. Department of Medicine
  Sam Seifter, Ph.D. Department of Biochemistry
Click here to log in