The Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health

Introducing the Leadership Team

Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBA Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBA
Professor and University Chair
The Chella & Moise Safra Chair 


Edith D. Gurewitsch Allen, MD 
Executive Vice Chair
Clinical Services

Erika H. Banks, MD 
Vice Chair




Mark Levie, MDMark D. Levie, MD
Associate Chair  


Hospital Site Leaders

Erika H. Banks, MD, Director of Gynecology, Weiler Division

Peter S. Bernstein, MD, MPH, Director of Obstetrics, Weiler Division

Rodney Wright, MD, MS, Director, Wakefield Division

Mark D. Levie, MD, Director, Moses Division


Division Directors

Family Planning, Nerys Benfield, MD 

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery: Ava Leegant, MD (Interim)

Fetal Medicine and Ultrasound, Peer Dar, MD 

General Obstetrics and Gynecology, Edith Gurewitsch Allen, MD, MBA, MEd (Interim)  

Gynecologic Oncology, Dennis Yi-Shin Kuo, MD (Interim) 

Maternal Fetal Medicine, Peter S. Bernstein, MD, MPH 

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery, Mark D. Levie, MD 

Reproductive and Medical Genetics, Susan D. Klugman, MD 

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, Harry J. Lieman, MD 


Program Directors

Family Planning Fellowship, Nerys Benfield, MD 

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship, Ava Leegant, MD 

Gynecologic Oncology Fellowship, Dennis Yi-Shin Kuo, MD 

Maternal Fetal Medicine Fellowship, Francine H. Hughes, MD 

Medical Genetics Residency, Susan D. Klugman, MD 

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery Fellowship, Mark D. Levie, MD 

Physician Assistant Program, Zeidy Flores, PA-C 

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Fellowship, Erkan Buyuk, MD 

Residency Program Director, Erika H. Banks, MD; Associate Program Directors, Erika Levi, MD and Talitha L.M. Bruney, MD 

Medical Student Clerkship Director, Staci Pollack, MD 



Jacobi Medical Center 

Michael Zinaman, MD, Chair

Daryl Wieland, MD Vice Chair

St. Barnabas 

Mark Rosing, MD, MPH, Chair

Click here to log in