Department of Biochemistry

Name
Contact Information
Research Information

Department Chair

Steven C. Almo, Ph.D.

Steven C. Almo, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Chair Department of Biochemistry

Wollowick Family Foundation Chair in Multiple Sclerosis and Immunology

Director, Einstein Macromolecular Therapeutics Developmental Facility

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 308
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2746
steve.almo@einsteinmed.org

Full-Time Faculty

Primary Faculty
Bogos Agianian, Ph.D.

Bogos Agianian, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: G01
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4791
bogos.agianian@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Structural biology, drug discovery, molecular biophysics, structure-function, kinases, cancer

John S. Blanchard, Ph.D.

John S. Blanchard, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Dan Danciger Professor of Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 313
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3096
john.blanchard@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: My laboratory is engaged in the structural and functional characterization of enzymes from Mycobacterium tuberculosis. We have discovered new drug combinations that are effective against strains of drug resistant Tuberculosis

Jeffrey B. Bonanno, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 409
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2745
Fax: 718.430.8565
jeffrey.bonanno@einsteinmed.org

Michael D. Brenowitz, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 311
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3179
Fax: 718.430.8565
michael.brenowitz@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Exploring how protein, DNA, and RNA structure, folding, and assembly determines the biological function of these macromolecules.

Anne R. Bresnick, Ph.D.

Anne R. Bresnick, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Director, Belfer Institute for Advanced Biomedical Studies

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 301
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2741
anne.bresnick@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Mechanisms mediating tumor cell migration, invasion and metastasis; development of novel drugs that target cell migration; regulation of the actin-based cytoskeleton

Sean M. Cahill, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: B8
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2035
Fax: 718.430.8565
sean.cahill@einsteinmed.org

Robert Callender, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 303
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3024
robert.callender@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Enzymology, mechanism and function of enzymes, protein structure and dynamics, drug design

Alev Celikgil, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 313
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1182
acelikgi@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Microarray development for DNA and protein arrays. High-throughput recombinant protein expression in eukaryotic systems and downstream purification operations for endotoxin-free production as part of Macromolecular Therapeutics Development Facility.

Swetha Chamala, M.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 313
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1082
swetha.chamala@einsteinmed.org

Maureen J. Charron, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 312
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2852
Fax: 718.430.8565
maureen.charron@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Developmental origin of obesity and diabetes, high fat diet and obesity, animal models of metabolic disease, epigenetics and DNA methylation, glucose transporters and glucagon receptor

Dajun Chen, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 314A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2793
dajun.chen@einsteinmed.org

David Cowburn, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 423
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8621
david.cowburn@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Structural molecular biology; structure/function relationships in the immune system, signal transduction, and nuclear transport; NMR; integration of simulation of time dependent processes and experiment; protein engineering.

Phaneendra K. Duddempudi, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 409
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2745
Fax: 718.430.8565
phaneendra.duddempudi@einsteinmed.org

Natalia Dulianinova, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 301
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2742
Fax: 718.430.8565
natalia.dulianinova@einsteinmed.org

Scott J. Garforth, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 274
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1146
scott.garforth@einsteinmed.org

Sarah C. Garrett, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 319
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1082
Fax: 718.430.8565
sarah.garrett@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: High throughput Screening Molecular Biology Protein Expression/Purification Mutagenesis

Evripidis Gavathiotis, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 01
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3725
Fax: 718.430.8989
evripidis.gavathiotis@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: chemical biology, structural biology, medicinal chemistry, drug discovery, BCL-2 family proteins, protein-protein interactions, kinase signaling, cell death, apoptosis, mitochondria, autophagy, cancer, aging, COVID-19

Agnidipta Ghosh, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 409
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2745
Fax: 718.430.8565
agnidipta.ghosh@einsteinmed.org

Tyler L. Grove, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 305
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2745
Fax: 718.430.8565
tyler.grove@einsteinmed.org

Rajesh K. Harijan, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 301
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2777
Fax: 718.430.8565
rajesh.harijan@einsteinmed.org

Victor Bernard Hatcher, Ph.D.

Victor Bernard Hatcher, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Professor, Department of Medicine

Associate Dean for Continuing Professional Development

Associate Dean for Research Administration

Montefiore Medical Center
111 East 210th Street
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.6674
Fax: 718.547.2626
victor.hatcher@einsteinmed.org

Subray Hegde, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 315
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3095
Fax: 718.430.8565
subray.hegde@einsteinmed.org

Jonathan R. Lai, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 519
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1024
jon.lai@einsteinmed.org

Aldo B. Massimi, M.S.E.E.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 313A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1082
aldo.massimi@einsteinmed.org

Robyn D. Moir, Ph.D.

Robyn D. Moir, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 316
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2860
Fax: 718.430.8565
robyn.moir@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: High throughput yeast genetics; molecular and quantitative biochemical analysis of transcription by RNA polymerase III; mechanism of action of the transcription repressor Maf1in yeast and mouse; RNA biology of Maf1 KO mice.

Edward Nieves, B.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 403
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3476
edward.nieves@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: The use of mass spectrometry in biological and biochemical research; areas such as the qualitative and quantitative analysis of proteins and their PTMs, small molecules and unknowns.

Larsulrik R. Nordstroem, Ph.D.

Larsulrik R. Nordstroem, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Operations Director of the Chemical Synthesis Core

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 314A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2072
Fax: 718.430.8565
lars.nordstroem@einsteinmed.org

Vern L. Schramm, Ph.D.

Vern L. Schramm, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Ruth Merns Chair in Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 301
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2813
Fax: 718.430.8565
vern.schramm@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Enzymatic transition states are solved by isotope effects and quantum chemistry. This knowledge permits drug design for cancers, antibiotics and other disorders. Protein dynamics in catalysis is a second focus.

Giridhar Sekar, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 423
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8709
Fax: 718.430.8565
giridhar.sekar@einsteinmed.org

David Shechter, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 304
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4120
Fax: 718.430.8565
david.shechter@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Chromatin biology and epigenetics in development and cancer; structural and post-translational regulation of histone chaperones; molecular mechanisms and biological function of protein arginine methyltransferases

Simone Sidoli, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 405
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3475
Fax: 718.430.8565
simone.sidoli@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Chromatin biology, proteomics, mass spectrometry

Howard M. Steinman, Ph.D.

Howard M. Steinman, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Assistant Dean for Biomedical Science Education

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Belfer Building, Room: 211E
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3010
Fax: 718.430.8565
howard.steinman@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Bacterial pathogenesis, Legionnaires'Disease, Legionella pneumophila, Medical education

Vasantha Kumar Machohally Venkateshaiah, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: G01
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4623
Fax: 718.430.8565
vasanthak.machohallyvenkateshaiah@einsteinmed.org

Olivia M. Vergnolle, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 513
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1025
olivia.vergnolle@einsteinmed.org

Ian M. Willis, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 316
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2839
ian.willis@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: RNA polymerase III transcription and its repression by Maf1; Mechanisms of obesity resistance in Maf1 knockout mice; Mechanisms of neurodegeneration in Pol III-related leukodystrophy

Secondary Faculty
Jonathan M. Backer, M.D.

Jonathan M. Backer, M.D.

Professor, Department of Molecular Pharmacology

Professor, Department of Biochemistry

William S. Lasdon Chair in Pharmacology Department of Molecular Pharmacology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 230
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2153
Fax: 718.430.3749
jonathan.backer@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Signal transduction;Phosphoinositide kinases; Actin/myosin and cell motility; Tumor metastasis; Vesicular trafficking

Andras Fiser, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 453A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1068
andras.fiser@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: receptor-ligand recognition in the immunological synapse; protein structure modeling and design; transcription factor recognition of cognate DNA binding sites; modeling of gene regulatory networks;

Part-Time Faculty

Sergei Khrapunov, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 311
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3180
Fax: 718.430.8565
sergei.khrapunov@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Structure and thermodynamics of proteins and protein-DNA complexes. Chromatin structure.

Voluntary Faculty

Hua Deng, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 303
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2437
Fax: 718.430.8565
hdeng12@einsteinmed.org

Rodrigo G. Ducati, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461


rodrigo.ducati@einsteinmed.org

Tsuyoshi Egawa, Ph.D.

Tsuyoshi Egawa, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 303
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2777
tsuyoshi.egawa@einsteinmed.org

Sasha Englard, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 329SB
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3031
sasha.englard@einsteinmed.org

Alexander A. Fedorov, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 409
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2745
alexander.fedorov1@einstein.yu.edu

Thomas P. Garner, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: G01
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4623
Fax: 718.430.8565
thomas.garner@einsteinmed.org

Mark E. Girvin, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 303
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2724
mark.girvin@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Membrane protein structure and function; bacterial multi-drug resistance efflux pumps; protein NMR spectroscopy

Matthew Levy, Ph.D.

Vitrisa Therapeutics
Durham, NC 27701

Irving Listowsky, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 307
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2276
irving.listowsky@einsteinmed.org

Maynard H. Makman, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 126
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3032
maynard.makman@einstein.yu.edu

Zaher O. Merhi, M.D.

Zaher O. Merhi, M.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 312
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2853
zaher.merhi@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: 1) Impact of advanced glycation end products and vitamin D on ovarian physiology, 2) Impact of metabolic syndrome, obesity and bariatric surgery on ovarian function. 3) PCOS

Elisabeth K. Nyakatura, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: P513
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1025
elisabeth.nyakatura@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Antivirals targeting emerging viruses; Ebola and Marburg viruses; Zika; immunotherapeutics; antibody and protein engineering; directed protein evolution by phage display

Click here to log in